Recognition and Cooperation

Over the years the team of the Village of Hope and its members have been recognised and awarded with several honorary titles, prizes and commendations; a number of organisations have accepted us as members or cooperation partners.

We are truly grateful, but not for having received the awards, but for the fact that our work and efforts have been noticed. It means that people have noticed those who need help and their families, and this enables us to give more help to those who need it.

On November 28, 2019, the Harju County Maker of the Year recognition event took place at Arvo Pärt Center. The Village of Hope was recognized by the Harju County Security Council as the best organization contributing to internal security.

Nongovernmental organization recognized MTÜ Village of Hope as the non-governmental organization of 2018.

On November 23, 2017, the MTÜ Village of Hope was selected as the Year Citizen of the Harju County Initiative.

In February 2017, Minister of the Interior Andres Anvelt recognized the Kibuna Volunteer Rescue Team with a letter of thanks from the best volunteer rescue team of 2016.

In November 2016, Jaroslav Dudtšenko, a volunteer rescuer of the Village of Hope Fire Department, was recognized by the Rescue Board for his preventive work.

In February 2015, the Estonian Abstinence Union chose Village of Hope as the maker of 2014.

On the 25th anniversary of the clergy service of Estonian prisons in February 2015, Bishop Emeritus Märt Vähi received a letter of gratitude from the Estonian Council of Churches for his significant contribution to the development of Estonian criminal work.

In September 2014, at the 95th anniversary of Estonian organized firefighting, the Minister of Internal Affairs and the Director General of the Estonian Rescue Board gave recognition to a founder member of NGO The Village of Hope Fire Department and a voluntary rescuer Viljam Borissenko, with the Rescue Service Medal.

In 2014, the President of the Republic of Estonia awarded Bishop Emeritus Märt Vähi with the Order of the Estonian Red Cross, Third Class.

In 2013, the Deacon of the Congregation of the Village of Hope, the Executive Director of the  the Village of Hope Viljam Borissenko was named the Clergyman of the Year of the Estonian Christian Pentecostal Church.

In 2010 the founder of the Village of Hope, Bishop Emeritus Märt Vähi was presented with the Badge of Merit of Harju County by the County Governor for citizen initiative and a commendable contribution in the field of social work.

At the end of 2010 Bishop Emeritus Märt Vähi was nominated for Aadu Luukas Mission Award.

In 2010 the Village of Hope was awarded with the title of The Best Social Entrepreneur of Kernu Rural Municipality.

In 2009 the Village of Hope was given the Estonian Council of Churches Ecumenic Annual Award in the field of social work.

In 2007 we became members of the Coalition of Prison Evangelists.

In 2006, on the 85th anniversary of the Estonian Police, the Village of Hope was given a Commendation Letter of Gratitude by the North Prefecture of the Police for the excellent contribution to collaboration.

In 2005 Bishop Emeritus Märt Vähi was awarded with “Estonia’s Pride” by TV3.

In 2005 the Village of Hope was accepted as a member of ISAAC, the International Substance Abuse & Addiction Coalition.

Certificate about out collaboration with the Apostolic Church of Pentecost in Canada.